HomeNewsCelebritiesLionel Messi won the Ballon d'Or 2021

Lionel Messi won the Ballon d’Or 2021

Ballon d’Or 2021: Lionel Messi wins World’s best Football Player of the Year award for seventh time.

Balón de Oro 2021:

Paris Saint-Germain and Argentine forward Lionel Messi were named Ballon d’Or Footballer of the Year for a record seventh time. Messi, 34, helped his country win the Copa Am ،rica, his first international title, and has scored 40 goals in 2021 – 28 for Barcelona, four for Paris Saint-Germain and eight for Argentina.

Bayern Munich and Polish striker Robert Lewandowski were second, Chelsea and Italy midfielder Georginho third and Real Madrid’s French striker Karim Benzema fourth.

Bellon d’Or was voted in by 180 journalists around the world, although no awards were given in 2020 for the corona virus outbreak.

Either Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo (five wins) collected the award each year from 2008 to 2019, except in 2018 when Croatia midfielder Luka Modric won it.

Messi has already won the trophy more times than any other player and his seventh victory came after winning in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019. “It’s incredible to be here again,” he said at a ceremony at the Theater du Chatlet in Paris.

Two years ago I thought this was the last time. People started asking me when I was going to retire but now I am here in Paris and I am very happy.

“It’s a special year for me with this Copa America title. Winning at Maracana Stadium [1-0 against Brazil in the final] was very important and I was very happy to celebrate with the Argentine people.

“I don’t know if this is the best year of my life – a long career – but it was a special year with the title against Argentina after a difficult time and criticism.”

Messi also spoke warmly to runner-up, 33-year-old Polish captain Lewandowski.

“I wanted to tell Robert that it was an honor to go against him,” Macy said. “He deserved to win it last year.”

Lewandowski scored 53 goals in all competitions for Bayern in 2021 and was awarded the Striker of the Year award, a new award announced just hours before the start of the ceremony.

Gianluigi Donaruma of Paris Saint-Germain, who helped Italy win Euro 2020, won the Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper, while Champions League winners Chelsea were named club of the year.

Barcelona midfielder Pedri, 19, won the Copa trophy for the best player under the age of 21, while England internationals Jude Bellingham, Mason Greenwood and Bokayo Saka finished second, fifth and sixth respectively.

Fourteen of the 30 players shortlisted for the Ballon d’Or are currently playing in the Premier League. Chelsea were represented by five players, N’Golo Kante at number five, Jurgenho at number three, Romelu Lukaku at number 12, Mason Mount at number 19 and Cesar Azpilicueta at number 29.

Premier League champions Manchester City were ranked eighth, with Kevin de Bruyne in eighth, Rahim Sterling in 15th, Riaz Mehriz in 20th, Phil Foden in 25th and Robin Dias in 26th. Manchester United’s pair of Ronaldo and Bruno Fernandes were sixth and 21st respectively, Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah was seventh and Tottenham’s Hurricane was 23rd.

Ballon d’Or results:

  1. Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain / Argentina, Forward)
  2. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich / Poland, forward)
  3. Georginho (Chelsea / Italy, midfielder)
  4. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid / France, forward)
  5. Anne Golo Kante (Chelsea / France, midfielder)
  6. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United / Portugal, forward)
  7. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool / Egypt, forward)
  8. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City / Belgium, midfielder)
  9. Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain / France, Forward)
  10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain / Italy, goalkeeper)
  11. Earlingbroot Netherlands (Borussia Dortmund / Norway, Forward)
  12. Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea / Belgium, forward)
  13. Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus / Italy, defender)
  14. Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus / Italy, defender)
  15. Rahim Sterling (Manchester City / England, Forward)
  16. Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain / Brazil, forward)
  17. Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid / Uruguay, forward)
  18. Simon Kajir (AC Milan / Denmark, defender)
  19. Mason Mount (Chelsea / England, Midfielder)
  20. Riaz Mehriz (Manchester City / Algeria, Forward)
  21. Bruno Fernandez (Manchester United / Portugal, Midfielder), Lotto Martinez (Inter Milan / Argentina, Forward)
  22. Hurricane (Tottenham / England, forward)
  23. Pedri (Barcelona / Spain, Midfielder)
  24. Phil Foden (Manchester City / England, Forward)
  25. Tie with Niccolo Barella (Inter Milan / Italy, Midfielder), Robin Dias (Manchester City / Portugal, Defender) and Gerard Moreno (Villarreal / Spain, Forward)
  26. Luka Modric (Real Madrid / Croatia, midfielder), tie with Cesar Azpeliciota (Chelsea / Spain, defender)
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com